Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

XLR8 Programme

XLR8 is a motivational programme developed by Swimming New Zealand where swimmers score points across a combination of events and are ranked nationally on their performances. The programme recognises versatility and all-round ability, rewarding correct application of the processes necessary for long term athlete development.

Swimming New Zealand awards the top XLR8 swimmers bi-monthly in the following age categories: 10 & Under, 11 years, 12 years, 13 years and 14 years.  These athletes receive a personalised XLR8 certificate (AQUABLACK teams) and XLR8 cap.

The most recent XLR8 award winners for March/April 2016 can be found below:


10 & Under Mar/April Zoe Crawford NSSAK 3303 pts
11 Years Mar/April Madison Wills KWIMW 3489 pts
12 Years Mar/April Emily Spear ROTBP 4125 pts
13 Years Mar/April Georgina McCarthy ACEWK 4032 pts
14 Years Mar/April Sarah Miller SPCWK 3519 pts
10 & Under Mar/April Quintin Wong PPTCO 3511 pts
11 Years Mar/April James Donovan CSCAK 3385 pts
12 Years Mar/April Oliver Ryan HPKCO 3781 pts
13 Years Mar/April Kim Sungju NSSAK 3943 pts
14 Years Mar/April

Bailey Wang 

NSSAK 3635 pts


To measure a swimmer's performance, SNZ recommend using XLR8 point scoring for swimmers aged 14 years and under, and FINA point scoring for swimmers age 15 years and over.


Visit our partner site: www.takeyourmarks.com to:

  • Record all your meet results, including your splits.
  • Automatically store and maintain your best times.
  • Set and track your goal times.
  • Graph your results and splits.
  • Convert times from one course to another.
  • See your XLR8 and/or FINA point rankings


Please Click Here for XLR8 Programme Information


Yearly Top XLR8ers

Swimming New Zealand identifies and recognizes the outstanding achievements of those swimmers who deliver the highest cumulative XLR8 scores based on best performances during the calendar year within a single age category. These are SNZ's Top XLR8ers.

Read More

Previous XLR8 Award Winners

This section includes pdf's of XLR8 award winners from 2007 onwards

Read More