Swimming New Zealand homepage

The start of something extraordinary

State Insurance 2014 Swimming New Zealand Awards

12 April 2014

Viaduct Events Centre, Auckland

7.00pm Awards Dinner and Ceremony

Come Along and support New Zealands swimming achievements from 2013



NZ Swimming Trust- Emerging Swimmer of the Year                                  

1. Emma Robinson

2. Bobbi Gichard

3. Bradlee Ashby

4. Gabrielle Fa'amausili                              



Emma Robinson & Gabrielle Fa'amausili




National Swimmer of the Year

1. Lauren Boyle

2. Matthew Stanley


Lauren Boyle


Swimmer of the Year with a Disability

1. Mary Fisher

2. Nikita Howarth

3. Jesse Reynolds


Mary Fisher


Community Swimming Club of the Year

1. St Peters Swimming Academy

2. Swim Rotorua

3. Okato Swimming Club


Okato Swimming Club


Volunteer of the Year

1. Mark Berge

2. Greg Forsythe


Mark Berge


Bill Matson Technical Official of the Year

1. Greg Forsythe

2. Lesley Huckins

3. Paul Matson


Lesley Huckins


Quality Swim School of the Year

1. Christchurch City Council - Swimsmart/Swimsafe

2. Northern Arena

3. Easyswim Swim School


Christchurch City Council Swimsmart/SwimSafe


State Kiwi Swim Safe School of the Year

1. Fraser Crescent School - Upper Hutt

2. Makara Model School - Karori, Wellington

3. St Patricks School - Inglewood


Makara Model School - Karori, Wellington


Club Coach of the Year

1. Igor Polianski

2. Clive Wheeler

3. Ken Nixon


Clive Wheeler


Peoples Choice Award

1. Lauren Boyle

2. Sophie Pascoe

3. Mary Fisher

4. Gabrielle Fa'amausili

5. Matthew Stanley

6. Kane Radford


Gabrielle Fa'amausili


International Long Course Swimmer of the Year



Lauren Boyle


Open Water Swimmer of the Year



Cara Baker


Relay Team of the Year



Mens 4x100m Medley

Gareth Kean, Glenn Snyders, Shaun Burnett, Matthew Stanley


Peformance Swimming Club of the Year



North Shore Swimming

Swimming New Zealand High Performance Coach of the Year


David Lyles


New Zealand Masters Swimmer of the Year



Richard Lockhart


Billie Fitzsimmons Cup



Lauren Boyle


Swimming New Zealand Swimmer of the Year



Lauren Boyle


New Zealand Swimming Trust Table Auction


The 2014 State Insurance Swimming New Zealand Awards will not only recognise the achievements of New Zealand swimmers, coaches, technical officials and volunteers from 2013 but also provide the opportunity for the swimming community to support a long standing organisation that has supported many of the athletes in the sport today and of yesteryear.


The New Zealand Swimming Trust was established in 1989 to promote the disciplines of the sport of swimming and to assist athletes who have the potential to represent their country.


There will be 4 tables auctioned, with bids closing on Tuesday 1 April at 5pm. All profits from the auctioned tables will be fed straight back into the New Zealand Swimming Trust to help them support the swimmers of tomorrow.


Each table will have a current AquaBlack seated with the party of nine (9). See the tables below with the AquaBlack, a profile of the swimmer along with what the current bid is. To place your bid email your details and bid value to awards@swimmingnz.org.nz


Table 1.
Matthew Stanley
In December 2012, Matthew won a bronze medal in the 400m free at the FINA World SC Championships in Istanbul, Turkey - which has only just on the 14th March 2014 been confirmed by FINA. Matthew placed Top 16 at the London Olympics 2012 and the FINA World LC Championships 2013. Matthew currently holds the NZ Record for the 200m and 400m freestyle and first broke these in 2012 after previous gold medal Olympian, Danyon Loader, held them for 18 consecutive years. Matthew broke his own 200m free record in March 2013 and he was also a member of the NZ record holding 2012 London Olympic 4 x 200m free relay team.
Current Bid: $1,700.00


Table 2.
Sophia Batchelor
Sophia Batchelor first represented NZ in a senior international squad at the World SC Championships in Dubai, December 2010 at the mere age of 15.  Since then, Sophia has been a member of the AquaBlacks squad in 2011 and 2013.  In 2012, Sophia placed 4th at the Junior Pan Pacific Championships in the 100m fly, an event for which she currently holds the NZ Open record.  She also holds 2 other NZ Open records and an amazing 50 Age Group records!!!  Sophia is now on a scholarship swimming at CAL University, USA following in the footsteps of fellow AquaBlack world champion multi-medallist, Lauren Boyle (who also attended CAL University) and is team mate of Olympic Champion and World Record holder, Missy Franklin.
Current Bid: $2,000.00


Table 3. (This will only be a table of 8)
Lauren Boyle
In 2013, Lauren became the first New Zealand female to win a medal in a FINA World LC Championships after earning the bronze in the 400m freestyle in Barcelona on the 28th July 2013. She went on to win 3 bronze medals at the FINA World LC Championships in the 400m, 800m, 1500m free. Lauren was the first New Zealander since Danyon Loader, 19 years ago, to win a championship medal. Lauren broke the NZ and Oceania Records in 800m free and NZ, Oceania and Commonwealth Records in 1500m free. These records were swum in two memorable races both won in World Record times by Olympic champion Katie Ledecky.
Current Bid: $1,350.00

Table 4.
Kane Radford
In 2013, Kane was the 3rd time NZ Open Water Champion. At the FINA World Open Water Championships in Barcelona, Kane placed 18th in 5km and 20th in 10km, respectively. In 2013, he was 3rd in Tiburon Mile, an event that Kane won in 2012 and 2011. Kane was 10th overall at the World Cup 10km Event, Hong Kong 2013 and has recently been selected onto the AquaBlacks team, heading to the Pan Pacific Open Water Championships in the Gold Coast, Australia in August 2014.
Current Bid: $1,215.00